Tuesday, August 27

Arctic Monkeys "Suck It And See"


  1. She's Thunderstorms
  2. Black Treacle
  3. Brick By Brick
  4. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala
  5. Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair
  6. Library Pictures
  7. All My Own Stunts 
  8. Reckless Serenade
  9. Pile Driver Waltz
  10. Lover Is A Lazerquest
  11. Suck It  And See
  12. That's Where Your Wrong

Okay so I know this isn't exactly a new album from the Arctic Monkeys, but it is their latest! They're new album "AM" is supposed to be released in September of this year, woot woot!

If  you haven't heard of this UK based band, you should check out a cou ple of their hit songs, "Flourescent Adolescent", "I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor", and "R U Mine?" They are a good rock band , some alternative, and rock'n'roll mixed as well. They're signed to EMI, Warner Bros. Records, and Domino Recording Company. Anyways, on with the album.

The first track, "She's Thunderstorms", sounds like one of those cheesy high school bands that play that one slow songs at prom. It is slow, but it's also has a good rock beat to it. The second track, "Black Trecle", is a good hangout song. It doesn't have a fast paced, rocking out chorus, if that makes any sense. But it is a good alternative song. "Brick by Brick" is the third track and my favorite song. It has a really good rock vibe. You absolutely have to rock out to this song, bob your head and everything. Though I've noticed that this album has a handful of slower songs. As far as, a steady beat throughout the song and spoken lyrics. Only a few of the songs are jamming rock songs. Those ones were my favorite. "Library Pictures" was one of them, sadly, it was only 2 minutes and 22 seconds. =(  Don't get me wrong, I do like slow songs, but Arctic Monkeys are so good at jamming out, they make me want more. Every time I hear a slow song, I'm just waiting for a build up. "Reckless Serenade" and "Lover Is A Lazerquest" are one of the slow songs but they do have some good beats in there.

To be honest, as a fan, I wasn't amazed by this album, but it's alright. I had my share of jamming out and just sitting, moving side to side to the beat and lyrics of the songs. It's worth the listen. But don't expect any hardcore rock and roll like I did.