Saturday, March 21

Modest Mouse- Strangers To Ourselves

Modest Mouse
"Strangers To Ourselves"

  1. Strangers To Ourselves
  2. Lampshades On Fire
  3. Shit In Your Cut
  4. Pistol (A. Cunanan, Miami FL. 1996)
  5. Ansel
  6. The Ground Walks, With Time In A Box
  7. Coyotes
  8. Pups To Dust
  9. Sugarboats
  10. Wicked Campaign
  11. Be Brave
  12. God is an Indian and You're an Asshole
  13. The Tortoise and The Tourist
  14. The Best Room
  15. Of Course We Know

After waiting 8 years for a new album, alternative rock band Modest Mouse has finally delivered. But it might not be the package that we were expecting. Modest Mouse have released a new single "Lampshades on Fire", which sounds a lot like the MM we know and love. I finally had the chance to listen to this album, and all I could count on before that, were the opinions and reviews of others. After listening, I could tell that a lot went into this album. Random instruments like steel drums, cello, congas, Ebow, and more were played in the making of  'Strangers To Ourselves'. I discovered some favorites and a couple that I'm not to fond of. They stepped out of their box a tad with songs like "Pistol", which was more of electro-pop sound, complete opposite of their genre, but almost like they were making fun of other artists and the sound that they have. Thankfully were a handful of songs that brought us back to the way MM rocks our hearts. Tracks like, "Lampshades on Fire", "Ansel", "Be Brave", and "Sugarboats" are the kind of songs that did not disappoint. One thing I noticed, is Isaac Brock's (vocals,guitar,lyrics) way of writing. I read the lyrics along with the CD and I noticed that the lyrics seem like dark metaphors for things going on in the world. Which is really refreshing. You don't hear that on the radio. But now the question is... Was it worth the 8 years of waiting? Probably not, but it's still a good album and I am not disappointed as a fan and a music lover.