Thursday, May 30

Vampire Weekend "Modern Vampires Of The City"

Track List:
  1. Obvious Bicycle
  2. Unbelievers
  3. Step
  4. Diane Young
  5. Don't Lie
  6. Hannah Hunt
  7. Everlasting Arms
  8. Finger Back
  9. Worship You
  10. Ya Hey
  11. Hudson
  12. Young Lion

The lovely Vampire Weekend has released their new album in mid-May called, "Modern Vampires Of The City." You might know them from their other popular songs, "A-Punk", "Cousins", and "Holiday". Vampire Weekend has developed their indie-rock sound in their hometown of New York City and are currently signed to XL Recordings.
The first track on the album is called, "Obvious Bicycle". It's an odd way to start off an album. Why? Well, because its a really slow song, with vocals and piano for about 4 minutes. The song isn't bad, but you would think VW would place it somewhere else on the album. Then it moves on to a more upbeat and cheery song, it's called "Unbelievers". Next it goes to "Step", which has kind of a techno vibe and a soft beat and vocals throughout the song. After that, the album goes from fast to slow, to both. How is that possible? I have no idea. From crazy songs like "Diane Young" to "Hannah Hunt", "Ya Hey" and "Hudson", which pretty much made me feel like I was watching a scary movie, the music sounded straight out of a horror film with a story attached to it.
But honestly, the whole album was all over the place. Each song is way more different than the next one, from the instruments, the beats, and the genre itself. All of it is completely random, like, you don't really know which way the songs are going to go. The album isn't bad, it just wasn't what I expected, it through me off guard. It's slightly different than their past albums. It's just....weird. You just have to listen to it a couple times to get down with the madness!

No comments:

Post a Comment